top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Gross

I Love Jesus and 1 Corinthians 13! Part 2

So, this is part 2 of my discussion of 1 Corinthians chapter 13. On January 2, I looked at verses 1-3, and for part 2, I’ll be looking at verses 4-7. Then I’ll discuss verses 8-12, and finally, I’ll do a blog on verse 13 on February 13.

Just a little background information–I love 1 Corinthians chapter 13, and when I was in high school, I actually memorized the chapter as I was on a Bible quizzing team for a while. I am challenging myself again to memorize this chapter before February 13, as I think these 13 verses really give me an amazing description of what love truly is, and I want to radiate love. 

Let’s get started! Here are verses 4-7 from 1 Corinthians 13 (NIV): “4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” 

Now, I might be a bit biased, but I think these four verses might be my favorite verses from chapter 13. These verses just spell it out for me, and they tell me exactly what love is, what love is not, what love does, and what love does not do. This makes it pretty easy for comparison purposes, so I can compare my behavior to what is mentioned in these verses to see if I am displaying love or if I am not displaying love. Maybe I can even catch myself before I display unloving behavior and stop myself! Let’s break it down a little. 

Love does not what?

  • Does not envy

  • Does not boast

  • Does not dishonor others

  • Does not keep any record of wrongs

  • Does not delight in evil

Love is not what?

  • Is not proud

  • Is not self-seeking

  • Is not easily angered

Love is what?

  • Patient

  • Kind

Love does what?

  • Rejoices with the truth

Love always does what?

  • Protects

  • Trusts

  • Hopes

  • Perseveres

When I look at all of those things, the overall theme that I see is that LOVE is always focused on others. LOVE always puts others first–it is being a servant to others. Romans 12:10 puts this idea into words: “Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves.”

Now, this is difficult because I’m selfish. I’ll just say it. I think as humans we have the natural tendency to put ourselves first, but that’s exactly what LOVE is NOT. To really, truly show LOVE, I need to consciously put others first. This isn’t a one and done kind of thing–this is something I have to practice, every day, every minute of every day. And, I will mess it up because I am unfinished! I am not perfect, and I will need to keep trying. 

Thank goodness I have this amazing list from Paul in 1 Corinthians 13 that I can look at to use as a comparison guide, to help me see if my behaviors and actions are showing LOVE or if they aren’t showing LOVE.

Thank you for reading, friends!



8 views0 comments


bottom of page